top of page
Search
  • Career Coach

Meet our Career Coaches!

Updated: Mar 25, 2020


Amber

Course: BSc (Hons) Psychology (with a placement year) 

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I wanted to be a Career Coach to gain more experience in this area and help people feel more confident and believe in their abilities more when applying for jobs or other opportunities.

Why students should visit the studio: The Career Coach team are all students, so they understand the challenges of balancing work and study and as a team they have already helped me develop my own LinkedIn account and improved the way I approach applying for jobs. 

Fun Fact: I have an identical twin sister. 

 



Becky

Course: I am a final year student studying Forensic Biology.

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I became a coach because I love to help and encourage people. I have changed my degree and had different jobs during my time at university so understand how it feels to not know what you want to do and can pass my experiences on to other students.  

Why students should visit the studio: Student should come down to the studio because we have an excellent group of staff here who are all so friendly and helpful! It is such a beneficial experience to come and do some interview preparation or guidance writing applications. Even I learned so much during my staff training!

Fun Fact: My fun fact is that I visited a safari in Kenya on my 21st birthday and was urinated on by a lion!!  

 



Ben

Course: BSc Policing and Criminal Investigation.

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I joined the Career Studio to help people gain the relevant experiences in life to put them in as employable a position as possible. 

Why students should visit the studio: I've seen the benefits of not being afraid to ask questions first hand and there really are no silly questions... At the Career Studio, we are here to answer all those questions! 

Fun Fact: My Grandad invented the Lava Lamp.

 



David

Course: MSc Computer Science.

Why they wanted to become a career coach: ‘I enjoy helping people succeed… and I’ve been doing this with my eldest two kids for the last 6 months!’

Why students should visit the studio: ‘It’s a relaxed place that helps you work through the processes to getting a job, placement or write those tricky personal statements – why wouldn’t you come?’

Fun Fact: I play bass guitar (badly).

 



Ellen

Course: Forensic Biology.

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I became a coach to help people achieve their career goals, and to gain more experience in guiding other people.

Why students should visit the studio: You should come to the career studio because we are all very friendly students that can help you find your career pathway and improve your employability skills.

Fun Fact: I can’t wink!

 



Grace

Course: MSc Digital Marketing Management. 

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I wanted to be a career coach because I feel the role allows me to utilise my skills and knowledge from previous work experiences for the benefit of other students. I have a range of experience in assessments and job applications, having successful upskilled colleagues to management positions, assessing in assessments days and undergoing the process myself. I want to transfer these experiences and skills gained to empower fellow students to achieve their full career potential.

Why students should visit the studio: Students should come to the Career Studio to utilise the coach's skills and take advantage of the university's industry connected links. Drop in to explore career, placement and further education opportunities alongside trained coaches. Coaches can guide students into gaining relevant work experience which will support future career opportunities.

Fun Fact: I am a qualified ski instructor, and I have lived in Romania for 4 months working the winter season. 

 



Bertha

Course: Law

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I became a Career Coach because I believe in people. I believe in empowering people with the knowledge and skills they need to excel and thrive in the competitive world we live in.

Why students should visit the studio: You should come over to the Career studio because we are here to support, guide and equip you with the strategies, techniques and approaches which you need to move into a Full or Part time career that you deserve and is right for you. So come over to our lovely and beautiful Career studio, you sure will not regret it!

 



Holly

Course: MSc Applied research (Forensic focused). 

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I became a coach because I want to help people on their journey to achieve their goals and work towards their future career. 

Why students should visit the studio: People should come to the studio as we can empower them in their next steps to their future. 

Fun Fact: I qualified as a Media Makeup artist before becoming a Forensic Investigator- No dream is too big! 

 



Rosie

Course: Sociology and Criminology.

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I became a coach because I understand how stressful and demoralising finding work can be. I wanted to be able to help empower people to realise their strengths and find confidence in their skills so they can go into job hunting positive and confident. 

Why students should visit the studio: People should come into the studio because we can offer support in many different areas and it never hurts to be the most prepared you can be with applications or interviews.

Fun Fact: I once spent 2 weeks making a paper mâché costume of an olive for a party

 



Megan

Course: I am a level 4 Forensic Investigation Student.

Why they wanted to become a career coach: I became a Career Coach because I love helping people find the path they want to be on and helping them achieve their goals.

I changed my mind about what I wanted to do with my future and therefore, changed the course I wished to be on. I can share this knowledge and experience with other students who may be in a similar situation.

Why students should visit the studio: Students should come in to the studio as all of us who work here are students too, we understand the stresses and difficulties of student life. Our main aim is to empower students at Staffordshire University and help them to realise their full potential.

Fun Fact: Fun fact is that I have dual British and Spanish nationality and I’m bilingual in both languages.

 

To speak to one of our Career Coaches get in touch.

Twitter: @CareersAtStaffs

Instagram: @CareersAtStaffs

Facebook: Staffordshire University​ Career & Personal Development

LinkedIn: @CareersAtStaffs

111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page