top of page
Search
  • Career Coach

Careers Graduate Q&A- Amber from LSE!

Written by Amber



We interviewed Amber, a final year student from the school of LSE, to see what steps she is taking to secure her future job position. Questions asked included: have her career plans changed, what are her concerns about her future and how she is being pro-active during this uncertain time.


 

1) What are YOUR concerns about YOUR future?

My concerns begin with achieving the grades needed for the graduate scheme I have applied for or the masters (I am now considering) I would start later in the year (related to personal difficulties and exceptional circumstances). Furthermore, whichever pathway I choose would involve individual concerns – moving further away from home, working on the frontline when we could still be on lockdown potentially putting myself at risk, being able to afford to live on my own for work or study, continuing studies at a higher level remotely involving little contact time and mostly not being successful with the pathway I decide to follow.

2) Have YOU changed YOUR plans?

Yes! Due to the current circumstances my travel plans, which included an educational trip to Malaysia with Staffs Psychology department and a 4 week psychology placement in Bali, have already been or will more than likely be cancelled and if not I will be seriously considering dropping out of the placement because of the pandemic. This restricts the work experience I was hoping to have completed before starting work (or masters). Also, due to limited places on the graduate scheme I have applied for there may not be a location suitable which means I am making more of an effort to consider a master’s degree for September start.

3) What are YOU pro-actively doing now?

I am contacting the graduate scheme for more information about availability and other options. Regarding the masters, I am planning to attend the Staffs post grad virtual open day. I have applied to be a student advisory panel member for ‘start to success’ which launched earlier in the year (regional 2 year mental health project) and have already spoken to the project coordinator for more information. Also, I am currently completing an online course ‘Safeguarding Adults: Level 3 Training’, which I am more than half way through and will give me industry relevant training and the safeguarding certification on completion.

4)What are YOUR top tips for YOUR fellow graduates?

  • Always look for a plan B, in these uncertain times especially, I wouldn’t risk relying on one option.

  • Look for and complete courses that are relevant to your career choice – they will give you an edge against peers and can offer a break from Uni work.

  • Be openminded – you may find opportunities to suit you that you didn’t originally consider of interest.

  • Don’t be too critical of yourself - you’re trying your best!

  • Don’t give up!


 

Check out how our Career Managers can help you!

Introducing Gary McNally, Careers Relationship Manager for LSE!



Did you find this blog post useful? Give it a like if you did!

Are you graduating this year? Have you had to change your plans? Let us know in the comments below or contact a Career Coach for guidance and support!


 

To speak to one of our Career Coaches get in touch.

Twitter: @CareersAtStaffs

Instagram: @CareersAtStaffs

Facebook: Staffordshire University​ Career & Personal Development

LinkedIn: @CareersAtStaffs

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page